By Specialty

Africa
Asia
Atlantic world
Christianity
Europe
Latin America
Middle East
North America
Public history
Science and Technology
Women’s studies/gender

Africa
Crislip, Andrew
            Blake Chair in the History of Christianity
            913 W. Franklin St., Room 202
            acrislip@vcu.edu

Moitt, Bernard
            Professor and Department Chair, Africa and the Caribbean
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 203
            bmoitt@vcu.edu

Shilaro, Priscilla
            Collateral Assistant Professor, Africa
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 104
            pmshilaro@vcu.edu 

Asia
Herman, John E.
            Associate Professor, Late imperial China
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 101
            jeherman@vcu.edu

Atlantic World

Bendersky, Joseph W.
             Professor, modern Germany
             813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 201
             jbenders@vcu.edu

Eastman, Carolyn
             Associate Professor, Atlantic world,
             early America, women, gender and sexuality
             813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 104
             ceastman@vcu.edu

Newman, Brooke

            Assistant Professor, Britain, Caribbean, and Atlantic World
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 202A
            bnewman@vcu.edu

Meacham, Sarah H.
            Assistant Professor, colonial America
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 301
            shmeacham@vcu.edu

Moitt, Bernard
            Professor and Department Chair, Africa and the Caribbean
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 203
            bmoitt@vcu.edu

Christianity
Craig, Leigh Ann
            Associate Professor, medieval Europe
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 203
            lacraig@vcu.edu

Crislip, Andrew
            Blake Chair in the History of Christianity
            913 W. Franklin St., Room 202
            acrislip@vcu.edu

Smith, Ryan K.
            Associate Professor, America
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 106
            rksmith3@vcu.edu 


Europe
Bendersky, Joseph W.
            Professor, modern Germany
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 201
            jbenders@vcu.edu

Craig, Leigh Ann
            Associate Professor, medieval Europe
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 203
            lacraig@vcu.edu

Messmer, Michael
            Adjunct instructor, Europe
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 200 by appointment
            mmessmer@vcu.edu

Munro, George E.
            Professor, Russia
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 301
            gemunro@vcu.edu

Powers, John C.
            Collateral Assistant Professor, Europe and STS
            Assistant to the Chair
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 205 and
            Milhiser House, 916 W. Franklin St., 2nd floor           
            jcpowers@vcu.edu

Stone, Peter J.
            Collateral Assistant Professor,
            ancient Greek history and archaeology
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 206
            pjstone@vcu.edu 

          
Latin America
Espinoza, G. Antonio
            Assistant Professor, modern Latin America
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 202B
            gaespinoza@vcu.edu

Moitt, Bernard
            Professor and Department Chair, Africa and the Caribbean
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 203
            bmoitt@vcu.edu

Middle East
Hafez, Melis          
           Assistant Professor, Middle East          
           813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 202B          
           mhafez@vcu.edu  

North America
Daugherity, Brian
            Collateral Instructor, twentieth-century United States
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 103
            bjdaugherity@vcu.edu

Eastman, Carolyn
            Associate Professor, early America,
            Atlantic world, women, gender and sexuality
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 104
            ceastman@vcu.edu

Ebhardt, W. Scott
            Adjunct instructor, America
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 200
            wsebhardt@vcu.edu     

Kneebone, John T.
            Associate Professor, twentieth-century United States
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 302
            jtkneebone@vcu.edu

Meacham, Sarah H.
            Assistant Professor, colonial America
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 301
            shmeacham@vcu.edu

Meier, Kathryn
            Assistant Professor, American civil war, military history
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 105
            kmeier@vcu.edu 

Rader, Karen
            Associate Professor, twentieth-century United States and STS
            Milhiser House, 916 W. Franklin St., 2nd floor
            karader@vcu.edu

Raymond, Emilie
            Assistant Professor, twentieth-century United States
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 103
            eeraymond@vcu.edu

Smith, Ryan K.
            Associate Professor, America
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 106
            rksmith3@vcu.edu

Smithers, Gregory
            Associate Professor, America, native Americans, Indian slavery
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 205
            gdsmithers@vcu.edu 

Thurber, Timothy N.
            Associate Professor, twentieth-century United States
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 206
            tnthurber@vcu.edu 

Watkinson, James W.
            Adjunct instructor, America
           811 S. Cathedral Pl., by appointment
            jdwatkinson@vcu.edu

Whitworth, William
            Adjunct instructor, America and Europe
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 200, by appointment
            wmwhitwo@vcu.edu

Public history
Daugherity, Brian
            Collateral Instructor, twentieth-century United States
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 103
            bjdaugherity@vcu.edu

Kneebone, John T.
            Associate Professor, twentieth-century United States
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 302
            jtkneebone@vcu.edu

Smith, Ryan K.
            Associate Professor, America
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 106
            rksmith3@vcu.edu

Science and Technology
Rader, Karen
            Associate Professor, twentieth-century United States and STS
            Milhiser House, 916 W. Franklin St., 2nd floor 
            karader@vcu.edu

Powers, John C.
            Collateral Assistant Professor, Europe and STS
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 205
            Milhiser House, 916 W. Franklin St., 2nd floor 
            jcpowers@vcu.edu

Women’s studies/gender
Craig, Leigh Ann
            Associate Professor, medieval Europe
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 203
            lacraig@vcu.edu

Eastman, Carolyn
            Associate Professor, women, gender and sexuality,
            early America, Atlantic world
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 104
            ceastman@vcu.edu

Meacham, Sarah H.
            Assistant Professor, colonial America
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 301
            shmeacham@vcu.edu

Moitt, Bernard
            Professor and Chair, Africa and the Caribbean
            811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 203
            bmoitt@vcu.edu

Rader, Karen
            Associate Professor, twentieth-century United States and STS
            Milhiser House, 916 W. Franklin St., 2nd floor 
            karader@vcu.edu

Raymond, Emilie
            Assistant Professor, twentieth-century United States
            813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 103
            eeraymond@vcu.edu