Faculty and Staff

 

Bendersky, Joseph W.
Professor, modern Germany
813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 201
(804) 828-9755
jbenders@vcu.edu

Blake, William E., Jr. (retired)
Professor Emeritus, religion
811 S. Cathedral Pl.
weblake2@verizon.net   

Craig, Leigh Ann 
Associate Professor, medieval Europe
813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 203
(804) 828-9666
lacraig@vcu.edu

Crislip, Andrew
Blake Chair in the History of Christianity
913 W. Franklin
Anderson House, Room 202    
(804) 828-0155
acrislip@vcu.edu 

Daugherity, Brian
Assistant Professor, twentieth-century United States
811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 103    
(804) 828-4498
bjdaugherity@vcu.edu

Eastman, Carolyn
Associate Professor, early America
813 S. Cathedral Place, Room 103
(804) 828-0053
ceastman@vcu.edu

Ebhardt, W. Scott
Adjunct instructor, America
811 S. Cathedral Pl.
by appointment
wsebhardt@vcu.edu  

Espinoza, G. Antonio
Assistant Professor, modern Latin America
811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 202B
(804) 828-9398
gaespinoza@vcu.edu

Hafez, Melis
Assistant Professor, Middle East
813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 202B
(804) 828-9767
mhafez@vcu.edu

 Herman, John E.
Associate Professor, late imperial China
813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 101
(804) 828-2856
jherman@vcu.edu

Kneebone, John T.
Department Chair and Associate Professor, twentieth-century U.S.
811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 302
(804) 828-9706
jtkneebone@vcu.edu

Meacham, Sarah H.
Director of Graduate Studies and Associate Professor, colonial America
811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 301    
(804) 828-9758
shmeacham@vcu.edu

Kathryn Meier
Assistant Professor, Civil War & Reconstruction
811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 205
(804) 828-9714
kmeier@vcu.edu

Messmer, Michael
Adjunct instructor, Europe
813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 200
(804) 828-4386
mmessmer@vcu.edu

Moitt, Bernard
Professor, Africa and the Caribbean
811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 203
(804) 828-9675
bmoitt@vcu.edu

Munro, George E.
Professor, Russia
813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 301
(804) 828-2211
gmunro@vcu.edu

Newman, Brooke
Assistant Professor, early modern Britain, the British West Indies,
Atlantic History
813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 202A
(804) 828-9670
bnewman@vcu.edu

Powers, John C.
Assistant to the Chair
Collateral Assistant Professor, STS and Europe
Milhiser House, 916 W. Franklin St., 2nd floor    
(804) 828-1736
jcpowers@vcu.edu

Rader, Karen
Associate Professor, STS and twentieth-century United States
Milhiser House, 916 W. Franklin St., 2nd floor 
(804) 828-9642
karader@vcu.edu

Raymond, Emilie
Associate Professor, twentieth-century United States
813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 302
(804) 828-9809
eeraymond@vcu.edu

Shilaro, Priscilla
Assistant Professor, Africa
813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 104
(804) 828-9814
pmshilaro@vcu.edu 

Smith, Nicholas
Adjunct instructor, Europe
811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 202A
(804) 828-1635
njsmith2@vcu.edu 

Smith, Ryan K.
Associate Professor, America
813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 106
(804) 828-9932
rksmith3@vcu.edu

Smithers, Gregory
Associate Professor, America, native Americans, Indian slavery
813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 205
(804) 828-4386
gdsmithers@vcu.edu 

Stone, Peter
Assistant Professor, ancient Greek history and archaeology
Assistant to the Chair, Faculty advisor for undergraduate studies
813 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 206
(804) 828-8577
pjstone@vcu.edu   

Thibault, Myja
Adjunct instructor, Europe
811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 202a
By appointment
(804) 828-9374
thibaultmr@vcu.edu

Thurber, Timothy N.
Associate Professor, twentieth-century United States
811 S. Cathedral Pl., Room 206
(804) 828-4760
tnthurber@vcu.edu

Watkinson, James W.
Adjunct instructor, America
811 S. Cathedral Pl., By appointment
(804) 828-1635
jdwatkinson@vcu.edu

Whitworth, William
Adjunct instructor, America and Europe
811 S. Cathedral Pl., By appointment
(804) 828-1635
wmwhitwo@vcu.edu 


For department staff, click here